-
Stanley Aluminum Boats
Distance: 0.6 Mi75 Tudhope St. N.
P2A 2W9 Parry Sound -
Donric Marine Ltd.
Distance: 10.0 Mi607 Hwy 124
P0G 1C0 Mckellar -
Beacon Bay Marina
Distance: 40.3 Mi37 Champlain Rd
L9M 1S1 Penetanguishene -
Bayland Enterprises
Distance: 40.4 Mi844 Portage Park Lane
L4R5G3 Midland -
Huronia Auto Glass
Distance: 41.7 Mi821 Vinden St
L4R 4L3 Midland
Website Links
Description
G. Brunatti & Sons Ltd. has been a family owned and operated business since it was first started by Giacianto (George) Brunatti in 1939. The company opened its doors on Seguin Street, Parry Sound, offering shoe repair and continued to prosper thoughout the early 1940's during the Second World War. After the war, the availability of plastics, imports and other materials made the purchase of new shoes much more convenient and affordable, and the shoe repair business began to see a decline in demand for such skills and services. In the meantime, Giacianto's son, Joseph, had taken a great interest in orthopedic shoes and appliances including back, leg, arm and neck braces. So the company began developing such products alongside of shoe repairs. The market began to experience another change following the war. People were more anxious to spend their disposable income on recreation. The growth of the cottage and boating industry meant that there was an increase in the demand for the repair and design of boat covers. People would bring their canvas tops to Brunatti's knowing the company had the industrial sewing machines to make the repairs. The company eventually out grew its original home of 1,000 square feet on Seguin Street and in 1984 moved to a new location on Pine Drive at the south end of Parry Sound. This relocation offered the Brunatti company 4,800 square feet in which to operate...