Clan Menzies

Clan Menzies

  • 49 Collins Crst
  • Aurora, Ontario
  • L4G 2W1

Website Links

Description

This spectacular sixteenth century castle, restored by the Menzies Clan Society welcomes vistors. Seat of the Chiefs of Clan Menzies for over 400 years and importantly situated, it was involved in the turbulant history of the Highlands and here Bonnie Prince Charlie rested on his way to Culloden in 1746. Architecturally fascinating, it is a splendid example of the transition between earlier rugged fortress and later mansion house. Castle Menzies stands north of the River Tay at Weem on the B846, one and half miles from Aberfeldy.

Her boss in California had suggested she look up friends of his, Graeme and Liz, who lived in Edinburgh, and who had a Menzies connection. Graeme's mother was a descendant of the famous shipbuilders in Leith, Messers Menzies. Founded in the 1780s by Robert Menzies of Kinghorn in Fife, some fine ships had been built at the Old Dock a print of one of these, Su-Lyn explained had been hanging on Graeme’s wall. The story went that his mother had been Robert Menzies's great-great- granddaughter. She had brought her three sons each a print of the launching in 1841 of one of their most famous ships.

Companies nearby